# Ontario Eventing Association (OEA) Annual General Meeting December 14, 2020 Virtual by Zoom

#### **DRAFT**

#### **Present:**

**OEA Directors**: Ann Neal, Pat Frewen-Lord, Veronica Low, Roseanne Corbett, Caroline Abrahams, Charlotte Hodgson, Kathleen Wilson, Kendal Lehari, Alexis Minz, Kelly Gravelle, Terri Hough-Gilmour, Pat Frewen-Lord, Peta Christen

**Members:** Melanie Marion, Sarah Roney, Gerry Machado, Tori Pengelly, Maddy Luker, Paige Bradford, Samantha Pritchard, Nicholas Austin, Katie Bondrager, Stephanie Ingwersen, Marie Moffatt, Becky Hicks, Olivia MacLeod, Wanda McTaggart, Cheryl Zdolski, Ruth Allum, Justin Ridgewell, Sarah Richardson, Laura McGuire, Cheryl Denault, Susan Carr

Call to Order: 7:05 pm

### 1. Welcome

Ann Neal, President, welcomed everyone and thanked them for attending.

## 2. Approval of 2020 AGM Agenda and 2019 AGM minutes

On a motion duly made by C. Denault, seconded by V. Low and unanimously carried, the members approved the agenda for the 2020 Annual General Meeting.

On a motion duly made by V. Low seconded by C. Hodgson and unanimously carried the members approved the minutes from the November 16, 2019 Annual General Meeting.

### 3. Introductions and Opening Remarks

Ann Neal introduced herself as the current President of the OEA. The OEA Board of Directors is currently comprised of 14 volunteers with key roles as follows:

- a) Veronica Low is the incoming Vice President and also oversees our Young Rider
   U25 program
- b) Cheryl Denault, standing for election tonight, joined the Board earlier this year and has agreed to take on the Treasurer role and liaise with organizers in the Eastern part of the province
- c) Caroline Abrahams is our Secretary and will be taking on memberships in the coming year.
- d) Kathleen Wilson is co-Chair of our Communications Committee and our webmaster
- e) Kendal Lehari is Chair of our Coaching Committee
- f) Alexis Minz is overseeing our Thoroughbred Incentive Program.

### 4. 2020 Recap

Ann noted that 2020 was a year like no other. Closing barns was extremely difficult. No-one expected the far reaching extent of COVID on the horse industry. We were also all devastated by the loss of Zara Buren. Unfortunately, COVID made schooling days impossible, and caused the cancellation of clinics. OEA recognized the financial impact of COVID, and as a result, we contributed \$1000 to EC to advocate to government of the impact, and seek financial assistance for equestrian businesses. We were grateful to be able to run a partial season. We also provided CIP grants to all organizers on the 2020 schedule with no restrictions in recognition of the disruption to their venues/businesses of this challenging time.

#### 5. Adult Riders

Ann reported on the programming for Adult Riders this year including regular virtual clinics including a Ruth Allum clinic on planning a training schedule

#### 6. Young Riders/U25

Veronica gave an overview of this program in 2020 which included 50 riders and 66 horse and rider combinations with approximately 40% from Central Ontario and a further 36% from Eastern Ontario. 11 clinics were held and grants were awarded to cover both Training and Travel costs of eligible riders. It was also noted that plans were in the works to field a team for the 2021 NAYC Championships. Veronica also acknowledged the creation of the Zara Buren Memorial Award and highlighted that a link to the award information and application forms will be placed on our website. A separate YRU25 leaderboard will be maintained for the 2021 season.

#### 7. Membership Report

It was reported that OEA memberships for 2020 will be carried over for 2021 with the exception of day memberships. As of October 19, there were a total of 939 members, a slight decrease from the year before of 985 and consistent with a general decline in membership over the last six years.

## 8. OEA Programming and Communications

In 2020 we offered supports for Coaching including a Facebook group for Coaching study and certification which signed up 73 members as well as a Zoom meeting to answer questions about certification. It was noted that the OEA schedule is usually planned about one year in advance of the competition season and considers both FEI events and U.S. competition schedules. OEA strives to meet the needs of both high performance riders and Organizers in setting the annual schedule. OEA Directors meet regularly with Organizers to discuss scheduling, rules, officials, policies and processes. OEA has charged competition levies since 2007 which it uses to fund the Competition Improvement Program to improve eventing venues for all members. Going forward for 2021 our focus will be on delivering value to our members, offering more clinics and education opportunities and initiating a safety device program. Our Communications relies on social media with Facebook and Instagram and is ably managed by Char Hodgson and Kathleen Wilson.

#### 9. Financial Report

Roseanne Corbett commented on the financial report and the financial statements. The financial statements for the fiscal year ending October 31, 2020 were shared.

Because of the reduced activity, we have a full year of membership revenues to carry over to next year. Levies were significantly reduced and organizers were able to retain 50% to cover additional COVID costs.

On a motion made by K. Wilson, seconded by S. Carr and unanimously carried, the members approved the October 31, 2020 financial statements.

#### 10. Retiring Directors

We have three Directors retiring from the Board this year; Pat Frewen-Lord, Roseanne Corbett and Peta Christen. All three have made tremendous contributions to the OEA and will be greatly missed.

#### 11. Election of Directors

We are very pleased to identify four new candidates standing for election; Laura McGuire, Cheryl Denault, Justin Ridgewell and Sarah Richardson. Veronica Low and Terri Hough Gilmour are standing for re-election.

On a motion made by C. Hodgson seconded by R. Corbett and unanimously carried, the following individuals were confirmed as returning and new directors of the OEA, to serve until their successors are duly elected:

Veronica Low (returning)
Terri Hough Gilmour (returning)
Laura McGuire
Cheryl Denault
Justin Ridgewell
Sarah Richardson

and it was confirmed that the following are the current directors of the OEA:

Ann Neal
Kathleen Wilson
Charlotte Hodgson
Caroline Abrahams
Kendal Lehari
Alexis Minz
Kelly Gravelle

# 12. Proposed Bylaws

Ann tabled the updated 2020 OEA By-Laws for review and a vote.

On a motion made by V. Low seconded by C. Denault and unanimously carried, the 2020 OEA Bylaws were approved.

# 13. Meeting termination

Ann asked if there was any further business. There being no further business, a motion was made by V. Low, seconded by L. McGuire to adjourn the meeting. The meeting adjourned at 7:56 p.m.